Product no.: #BCK 27125

In stock
can be shipped within 5 days

Price incl. VAT, plus delivery

Art : CD
Label : HYDRA
Artikel Nr. : #BCK 27125


1  You Call Everybody Darling

2  I Feel Like Rockin´

3  Love Crazy Baby

4  Treat Me Right

5  Get It Off Your Mind

6  Don´t You Know

7  Treat Me Right

8  Tennessee Zip

9  Love Crazy Baby

10 Satelite Hop   (Instr.)

11 Get It Off Your Mind

12 Honky Tonk   (Instr.)

13 I´m Sorry I´m Not Sorry

14 Your Cheating Heart

15 In The Mood   (Instr.)

16 You Call Everybody Darling

17 Always Thinking

18 Treat Me Right

19 Don´t You Know

20 Love Crazy Baby

21 One Night

22 Memphis, TN

23 Johnny B Goode

24 When The Saints Go Marching In

25 Brown Eyed Handsome Man

26 Arkansas Twist

27 Shake Rattle & Roll

28 I´m Gonna Bee A Wheel Someday


Kenneth W. "Kenny" Parchman (* January 15, 1932 near Jackson, Tennessee; † June 2, 1999 in Madison, Tennessee) was an American rockabilly musician. Parchman was one of the many artists who emerged from the legendary Sun Records.
From an early age he regularly listened to music on the radio and it wasn't long before his parents gave him a guitar as a gift. But shortly before Christmas 1944 the family home burned down; Parchman's father suffered such severe injuries that he died shortly afterwards. The Parchmans received help from friends and neighbors so that they could build a new house in which young Kenny spent the rest of his childhood. At school he formed his first own band, with which he performed at barn dances and other events. Shortly after, Parchman was drafted into the US Army.
After his discharge from the army in 1955 Parchman worked for Wells Fargo Spedition. In the evenings he played in bars and clubs to earn some extra money. It was at this time that he met Jerry Lee Smith, a pianist who was only fifteen years old. He then joined his band, which included Parchman's brother Ronnie as drummer. Together they made some demo recordings at Sun Records in Memphis. Pianist Smith knew Carl Perkins, who was under contract with Sun, from before and had already played with him. However, when Perkins had his big hit with Blue Suede Shoes, Smith had to stay at home due to his age and could not join the tour. Parchman's band contacted Sun's owner, Sam Phillips, through Perkins, who signed Parchman and his band.
In 1956 Parchman recorded Love Crazy Baby and I Feel Like Rockin', which was to become his first single, but Phillips stopped the release at the last moment. For what reason this happened, nobody knows. Parchman later suspected that Phillips did not release the record because Parchman had no manager anymore. In the next two years Parchman and his band recorded numerous titles, but none of them was released. In 1957 Parchman received an inquiry from the owner of the newly founded Jaxon label in Jackson, Tennessee. Parchman seized the opportunity and Jaxon released his songs Treat Me Right and Don't You Know. In the latter, Parchman sang with his brother Ronnie. A year later a second single followed on Lu Records. In 1958 and 1959 he returned to Sun Studios again to record some songs. One of his last recorded songs was Ray Harris' Love Dump Baby.
In the following years Parchman retired more and more from the music business. Until 1975 he performed in Jackson at the famous Pineridge Club. His last performance there was recorded and some of these titles were later released. Meanwhile, he and his second wife Lorene had built up a construction business which he successfully managed. In 1997 Parchman fell seriously ill and finally died in his home in Madison, Tennessee in 1999. In 2005 a Hydra CD entitled I Feel Like... Rockin' with his recordings was released in Germany. Even Brian Setzer of the Stray Cats recorded two of Kenny Parchman's songs for a solo project - Tennessee Zip and Get It Off Your Mind.


Customers who bought this product also bought

* Prices incl. VAT, plus delivery

Browse these categories as well: Hydra CD, O - P